IPL 2020: As KL Rahul made his captaincy debut, in opposition to Delhi Capitals on Sunday, he becomes the 12th cricketer to steer the Kings XI Punjab facet. That’s the easiest selection of captains for an unmarried workforce within the historical past of the league.

KL Rahul makes IPL captaincy debut for KXIP. (PTI Photo)


  • KL Rahul turns into 12th KXIP captain in 13 IPL seasons
  • The IPL workforce with second maximum captains is Delhi with 11
  • KL Rahul made his captaincy debut within the IPL this night

Kings XI Punjab’s newest captain KL Rahul took the level because the chief of the facet for the primary time, in IPL 2020, as he joined Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer forward of the toss. KL Rahul, thus, becomes the 12th standing captain of the Punjab side and KXIP becomes the IPL franchise with the maximum selection of captains until a date in 13 editions of the marquee T20 league.

Before Rahul, 11 different participants have led the Kings XI Punjab facet – Adam Gilchrist, George Bailey, Yuvraj Singh, Mahela Jayawardene, Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, Kumar Sangakkara, David Hussey, Murali Vijay, David Miller, Ravichandran Ashwin.

The 2d within the checklist of groups with maximum IPL captains is Punjab’s opponent in nowadays’s game- Delhi Capitals. The Delhi-based franchise had been in the past referred to as the Delhi Daredevils and the title used to be most effective modified to Delhi Capitals forward of IPL 2018. The franchise has had 11 captains with Shreyas Iyer being the newest one as he used to be named captain mid-way within the 2019 season-changing Gautam Gambhir.

Given the truth that the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise used to be shaped most effectively in 2012, they too have modified their captains for a top selection of occasions (7).

The groups with the least selection of captains in IPL historical past are Chennai Super Kings with the most effective two leaders – MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina. While Dhoni has been the unchanged captain of the CSK facet for the reason that the 2008 season, Raina has taken up the position in his skipper’s absence.

Kolkata Knight Riders, too, have proven loyalty to their captains as they’ve most effective had Four captains until date- Sourav Ganguly, Bredon McCullu, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik.

No.of captains for all eight groups (nonetheless energetic) within the IPL:

Kings XI Punjab- 12
Delhi Capitals- 11
Mumbai Indians- 7
Sunrisers Hyderabad- 7
Royal Challengers Bangalore- 6
Rajasthan Royals- 5
Kolkata Knight Riders- 4
Chennai Super Kings- 2

Let’s start building wealth with us The Wealth Home


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here